Mon Anniversaire

My 16th birthday was a week ago today. It seems like forever ago. And I figured I should write about it before it gets to be too long ago.

I started the day with 3 hours of school (8-11), which is the usual for Wednesdays.

At 12.30 I Skyped my family, which was a very emotional affair. I think it was a good thing to do, and I very much enjoyed it, but I cried at the end. Crying was a good release, and I felt a bit better afterwards. It was also fantastic to be able to explain myself fully, and just say what I wanted to without being restricted by my language abilities.

I had an appointment to try to open a bank account, but as it turns out it is not possible for me to do this because I’m a minor and non-citizen.

In the evening I went for a 5 km walk. It was incredibly beautiful. I followed a little chemin between fields and paddocks, some filled with  maïs, some empty, and some inhabited by horses (there was even a donkey in one). The return chemin went through a mini forest, which was awesome. It’s at the top of the hill and the view from the edge of the ‘forest’ was an amazing panorama of outer Genas and the aéroport Saint Éxupery.

I plan to take my camera on the route sometime soon, but until that time, here are some phone snaps to tide us all over.

Finally, I would like to thank everyone for their birthday wishes, they definitely made my day the great one it was.

2 thoughts on “Mon Anniversaire

  1. Jane Waldock says:

    Hi Becky
    I remember having my 18th birthday with my host family, not long after I arrived in the US. It was a tough day for me – I was terribly homesick and missed my family very much – and we didn’t have skype of course – I don’t think we even spoke on the phone as it was probitively expensive. As I recall things improved from that day, and I worked out that the other kids at school were kind and concerned for me, but also uncertain of how to start a conversation with the new girl.
    Its lovely to hear your thoughts, and to see that you are finding moments of joy and delight in amongst the challenges. Best wishes, and my thoughts are with you. Love Jane.

    Like

    • Becky says:

      Hi Jane, thank you so much for this. It’s great advice and I think every exchange student has had similar experiences, but it can be very hard at times. So thank you
      Best wishes
      Becky

      Like

Leave a Reply

